Three Spires Singers & Orchestral Concert



At Truro Cathedral

Rachmaninov:  Third Piano Concerto
Elgar:  The Music Makers

Features music composed at the start of the twentieth century, starting with Parry’s glorious anthem I was Glad, composed for the coronation of Edward VII in 1902. For Rachmaninov’s Third Piano Concerto, composed in 1909, the soloist will be the brilliant young pianist Cordelia Williams, who was the piano winner of BBC Young Musician in 2006.  The second half of the concert will feature Elgar’s The Music Makers, a relatively late work first performed in 1912.  This is a setting of Arthur O’Shaughnessey’s poem, whose text reflects on the ‘Artist’ being underappreciated and even rejected by society, a view of the artistic life with which Elgar empathised.  Our soloist will be the fabulous mezzo soprano Alison Kettlewell, winner of the AsLiCo Young European Opera Singers’ Competition and finalist in the Kathleen Ferrier Awards.


Full Price  £12.00 - £21.00
Under 18's  £6.00 - £10.50

A £1.50 Handling Charge will be added to each transaction.